Kaiji Manga Reading Order

Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji Manga Reading Order From Where The Anime Ends


Date: 20/08/2018

If you have already watched the Kaiji anime series and loved it, you would be surely interested to know the Kaiji manga reading order from where the anime ends. The intense psychological drama is unparallel and if this is something you look forward to then pick up the manga from where the anime ends. Kaiji joins the likes of psychological game manga like that of Liar game so be sure to check out the list of top 5 manga similar to Liar game and One Outs.

Before we check out the Kaiji manga reading order, a little bit about Kaiji.

About Kaiji Manga

The manga series is written and illustrated by Nobuyuki Fukumoto and has been in print in Kodansha’s  Weekly Young Magazine since February 1996.

The story is set in Japan. It was the time when the country was reeling under its first recession since World War II. Itou Kaiji moves to Tokyo to get a job soon after graduating from high school. Unable to find steady employment, he tries to deal with his depression with cheap pranks, gambles, liquor, and cigarettes.

Two years get by quickly and one day a man named Endou pays him an unexpected visit. Kaiji learns that he as outstanding debt to pay up. He ends up with two choices and chooses to board the gambling ship Espoir (French for “hope”) and stand a chance to clear the debt in one night. And so begins Kaiji’s thrilling journey.

Where does the Kaiji Anime End in the Manga?

Kaiji series has two TV anime seasons under it. Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor is the Season 1 and Kaiji: Against All Rules is the season 2 for the series. Both of them are of 26 episodes in length and Madhouse is the studio behind the series.

Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor adapts the Tobaku Mokushiroku Kaiji story arc and Kaiji: Against All Rules adapts the Tobaku Hakairoku Kaiji story arc. So after watching the two seasons, you can start reading the manga from the 3rd story arc: Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji.

Top 12 Best Mind Game Anime For You To Check Out

Kaiji Manga Reading Order

The Kaiji series is currently in the sixth story arc which has been ongoing since 2017. If you wish to only read the manga you can start right away with the first story arc Tobaku Mokushiroku Kaiji. Sadly, only 23 chapters of it are available as the English language translations. So the only reasonable option is to watch the season one of the anime which is Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor. This 26 episode series quite satisfactorily covers all the essential details of the manga.

Now, the second part of the Kaiji series: Tobaku Hakairoku Kaiji has also been similarly covered pretty well by the season 2 of Kaiji Anime: Kaiji: Against All Rules. Hence, just go ahead and enjoy the anime. If you are really driven to read the manga, you can do that too as the second part is completely translated. And then you can proceed to read the story arcs according to the below reading order.

1:  Tobaku Mokushiroku Kaiji

1.5: Kaiji Gaiden (Non-canon One-Shot) (You can skip this)1

2: Tobaku Hakairoku Kaiji

3: Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji

4: Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji: Kazuya-Hen

5: Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji: One Poker Hen

6: Tobaku Datenroku Kaiji: 24-Oku Dasshutsu Hen

Kaiji manga reading order can be a bit confusing if you were to have suddenly come across the anime series version.

Note 1: Kaiji Gaiden is a non-canon one-shot of Kaiji that Fukumoto did during the Espoir arc. It this Kaiji happens to not take the deal to go to the Espoir and aims to clear of this debt by other means. 

Where to read Kaiji Manga?

Now that you are aware of the right Kaiji manga reading order you can search for the English translated manga using the titles. Moreover, you can also check our comments section to find the links to each of the parts. Enjoy reading!

We bring out weekly news roundup and do check the anime and manga news roundup 29/08/2019 edition here!

Categories MangaManga FAQ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. where are the links